Why "La Mortilla"/Reviews

 

La Mortilla is a remote place, dripping with surreal poetry. It is not a place where you "simply stay"; you have to live it as consciously as you possibly can, by keeping your senses in constant vigilance. It is a place where you can be alert without effort. 

 

 It is a harsh, wild space, at times struck by the winds; a place of rocks and distant seas, of intense aromas and dreamlike visions, of silent sounds and heavy sleep. It is a place of awakening to the voices of a house that comes back to life. 

 

 La Mortilla is also a social place. Keeping to yourself there makes no sense. What does make sense is sharing a routine with your hosts, first of all, and with the other characters who inhabit the mansion: the helpers, the workers, and the other pilgrims on their momentary stay; a multitude of voices and experiences, of stimuli and discoveries. 

 

 La Mortilla won't find itself: it is a space hidden by its obvious self-evidence, and therefore it must be looked for regularly and with precision. The search will therefore be difficult, but when you find it, your journey and efforts will be repaid with surprise, and satisfaction. (by G.Maria Bianchi - educator, writer, and most of all, friend.)

 

 

Reviews

Christoph 16 lug - 23 lug 2018 AirBnB   This place is heaven on earth and the view is breathtaking! The house was super clean and equipped with everything we needed. Francesca & Lorenzo were super lovely and very helpful - just perfect hosts! Thanks for everything. I will be back soon.   Sabine 11 ago - 13 ago 2018 AirBnB   Location: The house is modern equipped, and offers everything you need for a relaxing holiday. You have a 360 degree view on the sea and hills of the south of Sicily. There is also a small house apart from the main house that gives you a little more privacy/space (very good for families). Very comfortable beds (and pillows!) bathroom in every room, WiFi, fan and air conditioning. The open space Livingroom/kitchen is a shared space that you can use at any time. If you like to cook on your own you will find anything that you will need from BBQ to Pizza oven! There is also a big terrace with a comfortable couch and day bed you can relax at any time. The pool is big enough to swim (ca 12mx6m) and is very well located, so you can enjoy the terrific sundowns at the pool! Also beds, seats, towels, and shadow is provided! The huge areal is planted with olive, almond and pistachio trees! The hosts: Lorenzo and Francesca were very kind! They love and live the style of hosting that they describe on their site. They treated us like family. when we needed to see a doctor , they found one that would see us (on the weekend!) and Lorenzo went with us to provide translation because we don’t speak Italian. (Their English is very good, apart from the rest of Sicilians ) When we didn‘t went out on a sightseeing tour (like valley of temples) and were at home, we were kindly invited for dinner with them, Lorenzo is a great cook and showed us some classic Italian dishes. It was very interesting to meet them, and other guests, eating together and sharing stories and experiences, and ending the nights around the campfire. They have a great sense of humor, were very lovely hosts, showed us very nice spots as (kind of) locals (beaches, dishes, town etc.) and made our Sicily trip an experience that we‘ll never forget! Thanks for everything !   Cedric 8 ago - 20 ago 2018 AirBnB   Nous étions une famille de 3 personnes logés dans la dépendance de la villa Mortilla. Dès notre arrivée, nous avons été extrêmement bien accueillis et avons découvert un cadre enchanteur proche de superbes plages (Torre Salsa), de sites uniques (Vallée des Temples). Un panier de bienvenue, un apéritif au bord de la somptueuse piscine avec Lorenzo et Francesca nous ont convaincus que ces vacances seraient parfaites grâce à nos hôtes. Beaucoup d’échanges, de partage, de rires lors des dîners où nous avons été souvent conviés même lorsqu’ils étaient avec leur amis. Jamais nous n’avons été aussi bien reçus en 8 ans d’airbnb au point que nous n’avions pas le sentiment d’être des clients mais tout simplement des amis. La richesse humaine est clairement la clé dans cet endroit. Comment oublier et ne pas citer l’adorable Dark. On en oublierait presque la perfection des lieux : maison très bien équipée (climatisation, wifi, lave vaisselle) car rien ne manque et tout est clairement conforme aux photos qui parlent d’elles mêmes ! Une expérience juste unique !   Giorgia 13 ago - 15 ago 2018 AirBnB   Un'oasi in un luogo inatteso. In cima a una collina circondata da ulivi e alberi di pistacchio, nella loro nuovissima masseria, ci hanno accolti Francesca e Lorenzo (in compagnia dell'insostituibile Better Dark, il loro dolcissimo Labrador) con un'ospitalità mai provata prima. Abbiamo utilizzato Mortilla come campo base per escursioni in zona come Torre Salsa o la Valle dei Templi, ma abbiamo anche goduto di straordinari aperitivi offerti da Lorenzo nell'infinity pool e di ricchissimi pranzi offerti dalla coppia agli ospiti nella veranda panoramica. Un avvertimento: quando vi dicono con tono discreto: "Se vi accontentate di quel che c'è potete cenare con noi", non aspettatevi una piatto pronto o una pasta sciapa, ma ricette da Cucina Italiana, perché Lorenzo è uno chef di tutto rispetto. Insomma, se ci andate per fare tappa durante un tour della Sicilia meglio non prenotare la tappa successiva perché rischiate di innamorarvi del posto, di loro, e forse pure dell'anonima Cattolica Eraclea.   Ilaria 14 ago - 16 ago 2018 AirBnB   Come i pellegrini di Chaucer dove ognuno racconta la propria storia, ma dove un buon pasto (e del buon vino) non viene negato a nessuno. Abbiamo passato due giorni di pace, contemplando il meraviglioso paesaggio, dondolando su un’amaca spensierata.   Alessandro 15 ago - 17 ago 2018 AirBnB   Casale incantevole fuori dalle trafficate coste, dove trovare silenzio colori e il calore di una famiglia ospitale Potrete godere inoltre della possibilità di pranzare e cenare con i gestori e gli altri ospiti, assaporando molte cose diverse Ideale se cercate un break e se amate vedere dei bellissimi paesaggi oltre che le stelle Difficile trovare qualcosa da migliorare   Eleonora 24 ago - 27 ago 2018 AirBnB   Un posto magico, ospiti deliziosi. Un sogno. Letteralmente.   Natascha & Simon 5 set - 8 set 2018 AirBnB   Wunderschönes Haus mit fantastischem Blick über die karge Landschaft Siziliens. Der Pool im Garten des Haupthauses ist natürlich das Highlight und wir fühlten uns hier ein bischen, wie Superstars in den Hollywood Hills :-) Die Gastgeber Lorenzo und Francesca sind warmherzige tolle Menschen. Auch das Meer ist mit dem Auto nicht weit (30min) und der Starnd hier schön, wild und leer. Vielen Dank für alles. Wir wollen wiederkommen!   Bethan 13 set - 17 set 2018 AirBnB   Thoughtful and considerate hosts who will ensure that you have a wonderful stay. The location is spectacular and facilities outstanding. An experience that was magical. Basking in the sunshine enjoying wonderful views, swimming in the infinity pool watching the spectacular sunset. Any stress or tension melted away. A magical place and fantastic hosts.   Piotr 4 ott - 7 ott 2018 AirBnB   It doesn’t feel like home IT IS HOME! Francesca and Lorenzo are wonderful hosts and you wish they were always around. We felt in love with this part of Sicily and definitely got new friends! Looking forward to our next trip to Italy and getting back together!   Dirk 25 mag - 7 giu 2019 AirBnB   We hat a wonderful time in Francescas and Lorenzos old house. The view is incredible! The house is well equipped with all the things you might need. You get fresh vegetables from the garden. Herbes and wild fennel are growing next to the terrace. This house is a unique place. But over all Francesca and Lorenzo are the nicest host you could imagine.   Joshua 7 giu - 10 giu 2019 AirBnB   There’s good news and bad news. The good news is that Lorenzo and Francesca’s place of stay is the most serene and special place I have ever stayed in. For me, if the weather’s nice there’s no place that can match it for what it offers. The hospitality is attentive, kind, jovial, and conscientious. The views are stunning, the pool is perfect- in its essence it is the perfect place to get away from any absurdity life brings. Now for the unfortunate news, the more people that find out how great it is, the higher the probability it will be fully booked with no spaces for any future escapes we all might desire. In any case, I’m looking forward to my next dip in this luxurious landscape.   Yvan
1 giu - 3 giu 2019 Booking   Francesca et Lorenzo Un couple adorable qui détiennent une maison de rêve extrêmement bien située à la campagne sur une colline avec vue sur 360 degrés. Accueil chaleureux, serviable, toujours à l'écoute. Apéritif au bord de la piscine et excellents repas préparés avec passion par Lorenzo et excellents desserts concoctés par Francesca ils sont très complémentaires. Nous avons trouvé de nouveaux amis donc je les recommande vivement